Castello Boncompagni Ludovisi

Via di Valle Braccia, 58, 00060 RM, Italia

The Boncompagni Ludovisi Castle in Riano was originally built in 1151 as square tower fortification, to which the three round towers were added later on. The Castle is surrounded by high walls, around which the town has grown up.

The present day plan - a square base with circular, corner towers, plus square tower - dates, however, to the mid 15th century. In the first half of the 16th century, the castle became property of the Cesi family and the building was transformed with the addition of long Renaissance windows on the perimeter walls and two rooms on the ground floor were decorated, very probably by the School of Zuccari.

There is a picturesque, ancient square just outside the walls with excellent panoramas of the lush hills and valleys.

The Castle is now the seat of the Riano Town Council.